Wisdom of Marion Vol 1.7

I read this saying a few years ago and I wanted share it again for this blog post.

The picture you have of yourself

will affect you more than the picture

you have of God.

When I first read it….I was like this is so true. Our own self-portrait can get in the way of how God pictures us.

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret.   (Psalm 139:13-15 ESV Bible)

That section of scripture from the Book of Psalms is very popular and taught in many churches.  However, I wanted to highlight the part where David says, I’m fearfully and wonderfully made.

Unfortunately, there are a lot of people in our society (Christians and non-Christians) who don’t think they are fearfully and wonderfully made by God.

Their self-portrait is one of denial or disgust or contempt or cynicism or narcissism. That’s a shame. Because, if God is our creator wouldn’t he knows us better than we know ourselves?

I realize there are a lot of different portraits for people from like parents, siblings, family members, friends, teachers, employers, therapists, self-help gurus, and even pastors.  But those people’s portraits will never matter if you don’t believe how God pictures you.

What is your self-portrait?  And just remember the one Who Is and the one Who Will Come still pictures us better than we can ever imagine.

2 Comments

  1. You know it’s funny you blogged about our self- portrait because I’ve been down on myself for the last week or two. For different reasons but mainly I’m just not happy with the person I am right now. Almost like I woke up one day and didn’t like me. This bit of wisdom really helped me. Thank you.

    • Valerie,

      Thanks for the encouragement.

      We all have to remind ourselves about our own self-portraits. Especially if we are going through a tough time or a dark period in our lives. It is easy to lose sight of how God view us despite of how we view ourselves.

      I truly hope you are able to begin to like yourself and know that God loves you and sees you as special. I know that may sound trite and overly religious…but I can say from my own life…he truly loves each and every one of us. Even those who have rejected him as well as the ones who believe in him.

Leave a Reply

